~ Volume II ~ Chapter 14 ~ Episode 6 ~

After Naomi’s memorial service, the Pickles family gather together at Jade and Wesley’s house.This gives the entire family more time to remember Naomi and celebrate her life. With the help of her mother Anika, Jade prepares an assortment of refreshments to serve. The family begins piling in and the house quickly becomes crowded. As Wesley enters, he is immediately spotted. “Uncle Wes!” Charlee calls out excitedly.

06-24-16_6-39-40 PM

She scurries across the room to where Wesley is standing, her shoes making a clicking sound against the hardwood. “I’ve been helping my mom with all three babies!” Charlee squeals with delight. “And guess what?” she says without pause. “I get to stay here at your house for a few days!”

06-24-16_6-41-00 PM

“Well that’s exciting now isn’t it?” Wesley replies, feeling completely awkward as he gazes into the eyes of his daughter. It is then for the first time that he sees Charlee’s mother, Charleen Cotton reflecting back at him.

“It is exciting! First you guys came to my house now I came to yours! I love having so much family. Before it was only me and my dad. He didn’t have no one else.” Charlee frowns. She reaches out to Wesley. “Hug!” she says giggling.

“Oh, silly me.” Wesley responds as he bends down wrapping his arms around her. The feeling of having his daughter in his arms is an overwhelming feeling.

06-24-16_6-40-13 PM

“There you are!” Talia laughs as she approaches. “I’ve been looking for you Charlee. Wanna go play in my room?”

“Yeah!” Charlee replies excitedly. “See ya later Uncle Wes!” Charlee waves as she and Talia go skipping up the stairs.

06-24-16_6-45-53 PM

Wesley makes his way toward the kitchen to help himself to a plate of food. “She really likes you.” Sage says stopping Wesley on his way by.

“Huh?” Wesley replies.

“Charlee. She must really like you. She doesn’t usually talk to just anybody.”

06-24-16_6-49-21 PM

Feeling uncomfortable, “Yeah well, I’m not just anybody. She’s met me before.” Wesley says squeezing his way through the kitchen doorway past Sage. An unsettling feeling comes over him as he thinks about the whole situation. Wesley quickly loses his appetite. Commotion coming from the dining area catches his attention.

“You couldn’t even be respectful enough to be at Grammie’s service today?” Peter says to Dillon who sits across the table from him. His words catch Aiden and Hunter off guard.

06-24-16_6-53-06 PM

“Well if you must know little brother, there were problems with my flight. I tried to get here on time.” Dill tells Peter trying to keep things calm.

06-24-16_6-53-23 PM

“Well we flew here from Windenburg with no issues.” Peter responds negatively.

“Whoa, Peter.” Hunter chimes in. “What’s with the attitude? Dill got here as quickly as he could. Lay off, will ya?”

06-24-16_6-54-00 PM

“What-ever!” Peter replies as he gets up from his seat.

“Look, I don’t know what your deal is but now is not the time or the place for it.” Hunter says becoming angry. “We all lost a very important person in our life. That should be our focus.”

06-24-16_6-54-17 PM

Peter exits the dining room. “When are we going home?” he asks Oliver sighing dramatically.

06-24-16_6-56-50 PM

“Going home?” Oliver says. “Peter, we just got here. We’re staying in town for a few days son. Why? Is everything okay?”

“It’s just that Rylie……” Peter begins.

“Your girlfriend? This is about your girlfriend???” Oliver responds becoming infuriated. “MY MOTHER IS DEAD AND YOU’RE TELLING ME THAT YOU MISS YOUR GIRLFRIEND?!?!”

06-24-16_6-57-09 PM

“Peter Pickles! Have some compassion, will ya! I don’t want to hear one word about your precious Rylie while we’re here. Do you understand me?”

06-24-16_6-57-38 PM

Never seeing his father so angry in his life, Peter nods. “Yeah. Dad, I’m sorry.” he apologizes.

Once Oliver is caught up in other conversation, Piper approaches her brother. “What the heck was that about? You had him raging!”

06-24-16_7-04-31 PM

“Nuthin’.” Peter replies as he pulls his vibrating phone from his pocket. “It’s Rylie. Look, I gotta go take this outside or this just may not be the only service the family will be attending this week.”

06-24-16_7-05-07 PM

The day continues with stories shared of Naomi’s past. There is laughter, there is tears. “Jay, I’ve been so wrapped up in everything.” Sage says to Jayla. “Thank you for sitting with Michiko and the twins today. I appreciate it and I know Jade does too.”

06-23-16_3-07-09 PM

“She thanked me already, several times.” Jayla laughs. “It’s time for diaper changes so I gotta run! I’ll be back down in a few.”

“Need help?

“Naw! I got a system now. You visit with your family.” Jayla says hurrying off.

“Okay.” Sage chuckles.

“What’s so funny?” Jade asks.

“Jayla and her diaper changing system.” Sage replies. “She’s got it all under control.”

“Those boys alone can be a lot of work.” Jade laughs. “I thank Sims for Talia’s help on some days. I could very easily lose my mind.”

“Michiko has those days. Charlee is a big help too. I don’t know what I’d do without her.” Sage pauses. “We got some news Jade, about Charlee.”

06-23-16_3-15-34 PM

“News?” Jade replies becoming anxious. She swallows hard as she tried to play dumb. “What kind of news?”

“We just found out from Sims Services that Charlee’s bio dad wasn’t Charles Pruitt. Charles raised Charlee as his own daughter without anybody ever knowing she wasn’t his.”

Feeling beads of sweat begin to form, “So who is her father then?” Jade asks, afraid to hear if Sage already knows about Wesley.

“We don’t know yet. Sims Services hasn’t disclosed that information.” Sage answers. “But we have a right to know. It’s only fair, don’t you think?”

06-23-16_3-15-51 PM

Jade can feel a lump forming in her throat as she glances over to Wesley sitting in the arm chair. “Sage, there’s something I need to tell you.” Jade says pulling her sister away from the crowd of people.

“What? What is it Jade?” Sage asks curiously.

06-23-16_3-20-53 PM

But before Jade has a chance to say another word, Aiden interrupts. “Hey girls, you haven’t seen Grandpa anywhere have you? We can’t find him.”

06-23-16_3-23-05 PM

“What do you mean you can’t find him?” Jade asks. “When is the last time anyone saw him?” The family divide and begin their search for Elliot. “Grandpa? Grandpa?” Jade hollers as she makes her way upstairs.

Sage stays on the main floor checking each room carefully. She ventures down the long hallway checking first the garage and the bathroom. “Grandpa, you in here?” she says knocking on the doors. When she gets to his bedroom door she knocks before entering.”Grandpa?” she says pushing the door open. There she finds Elliot in tears. “Grandpa! What are you doing in here? Sage says noticing numerous boxes and papers strewn about the room.

06-23-16_3-27-08 PM

“Grandpa, are you alright?” Sage asks as she approaches Elliot. “We were worried about you.”

“I was going through her stuff. I found this.” Elliot says handing Sage an envelope.

06-23-16_3-27-49 PM

Sage removes the neatly folded paper from the envelope. As she opens it up her hands shake uncontrollably. She briefly reads the contents. Giving Elliot a half smile, “I think now is a good time to share this.” she tells him. Sage and Elliot emerge from the bedroom. “Grandpa found something he’d like to share with the family.” Sage announces. The family all find a seat and listen contently. Elliot wipes the tears from his eyes before pulling the envelope from his jacket pocket.

06-23-16_3-37-45 PM

“I was going through Naomi’s boxes and I found this note.” Elliot begins to read……

Dear Elliot and family,

        I’m writing this letter to you, my family because I just arrived home from the doctor’s office with Elliot. I am going away. I will still be with you but I won’t know it. And you won’t know the real me because I am going away in my mind. I have been diagnosed with Al-Simmer’s Disease. I don’t know how much longer my mind has so I want to write this while still able. When you are in receipt of this letter I will no longer be here physically but I will forever be with each of you in spirit. When the soft breeze blows against you, it shall be my spirit passing by. Please don’t think of me with pity or sadness, instead smile and celebrate the moments we’ve shared together. And when all else fails, eat a cupcake! Surround yourself with the beautiful things that life has to offer. Life has a lot of grey and sadness sometimes so look for that rainbow and frame it. There is beauty in everything my darlings, sometimes you just have to look a little harder to see it.  Always remember how much I love you, each and every one of you.  And remember, family isn’t whose blood you carry, it’s who you love and who loves you back.  Elliot,  I was unbelievably lucky to spend so many years with the love of my life and my best friend. True love and soulmates do exist, we’re proof of that. It absolutely breaks my heart to have to say goodbye, but know I’m waiting for you at Heaven’s gates with our girls. 

                                                                                               With Love Forever,

                                                                                     Naomi – Grammie Pickles  

 

2 thoughts on “~ Volume II ~ Chapter 14 ~ Episode 6 ~

Leave a comment