~ Volume II ~ Chapter 14 ~ Episode 12 ~

“Daddy, look at me!” Infinity shouts as she splashes playfully in Jade and Wesley’s pool. “I wish we had a pool.” she says flipping herself onto her back to float.

“Look out below!” Zoey screeches before plunging into the crystal clear water. She wipes the water away from her eyes, her head bobs just above the water. Zoey then grabs her sunglasses from the side of the pool and slides them on.

“There you guys are.” Peter says as he exits the house. He notices Oliver sitting on the bench next to the pool in his bathing suit. “I just finished my packing.” he says.

07-06-16_9-49-37 PM

“Ya know, it’s been nice to see everyone but I can’t wait to get back home.” Peter continues. ” Is everyone else packed? What time does our flight leave anyway?” he asks taking a seat next to his father.

Oliver gets an uncomfortable look on his face. “Uh Peter. I assumed you knew.”

“Knew what?” Peter questions.

07-06-16_9-51-51 PM

“I postponed our flight.” Oliver reveals.

“You what???”

“Well with your cousins and grandfather moving, I figured we can lend a hand before we go back. It’s only for another week.” Oliver replies.

“Another week?! Dad!” Peter shouts becoming angry.

07-06-16_9-57-31 PM

“Sage and Jayla’s belongings are being packed up and delivered to Willow Creek. That’ll take a few days in itself for them to get here. I’m sorry Peter. But hey, it’s summer vacation. Enjoy it. ” Oliver says.

“How am I supposed to enjoy it when my girlfriend is four thousand miles away?!” Peter moans. “I’m going for a walk. I’ll see ya later.” Peter sulks his way through the streets of Newcrest. He drags his sneakers along the concrete sidewalk coming to an abrupt stop when his phone begins to ring. He slips the phone from the pocket of his denim jeans. “Riley.” he whispers as he views the caller ID. Sighing, Peter answers. “Hello?”

“Peter!” Riley enthuses excited to hear his voice. “I miss you, I miss you, I miss you!”

07-06-16_9-36-03 PM

“I miss you too babe.” Peter replies.

“Oh I can’t wait to wrap my arms around you and plant lots of kisses on those cheeks of yours!” Riley giggles. “What time are you expected to land tomorrow? I’m gonna see if my mom will drive me to the airport to meet you.”

“About that.” Peter says. “As it turns out we won’t be back tomorrow after all.”

07-06-16_10-06-25 PM

“What? How come?” Riley asks.

“I have to help some of my family move.” Peter explains. “We’re gonna be here for another week.”

“Seriously Peter?” Riley replies in an aggravated tone. “What’d ya meet up with an old girlfriend or somethin’?”

“Girlfriend?” Peter laughs. “Riley, I was just a young kid when I lived in Newcrest. Girls had cooties for Sims sake.”

07-06-16_10-07-24 PM

Riley sits silent. “You can’t possibly be mad at me for this.” Peter says. “Riley, this wasn’t my decision.”

“Look Peter, I gotta go. I guess I’ll see you when you get back.” Riley quickly hangs up.

07-06-16_9-39-44 PM

“What? Riley? I can’t hear what you’re saying. There’s a trolley going by.”

07-06-16_10-09-06 PM

Being the jealous type, Riley’s thoughts run wild when she hangs up. Is he having a superb vacation rekindling some old flames, has he even thought about her while he’s been away?

07-06-16_9-39-55 PM

“Riley? Riley?” Peter calls out. “She hung up on me.” he sighs. “Women!”

07-06-16_10-11-29 PM

Feeling down, Peter notices a sign for a new pizzeria and arcade.

07-06-16_10-12-08 PM

He decides to check it out.

07-06-16_10-19-02 PM

“Hey, can I get some coins for my simoleons please?” Peter asks one of the waitresses.

She reaches into her apron. “Playing some arcade games are ya?” she says.

Peter nods. “Yeah, this place is pretty cool.”

“Here ya go. Enjoy.”

Peter slips a coin into the coin slot of the machine. He feels a surge of excitement overcome him as the game music begins to play. It takes him a few moments to get a feel for how the game controls work but within minutes Peter has it all figured out. ‘PEW-PEW’ Peter shoots. ‘ZAP ZAP‘ The noises ring out as he fires to destroy his enemy.

07-06-16_10-19-31 PM

“C’mon!” Peter hollers at the screen as the mother ship emerges. Peter rapidly bangs the buttons.  ‘KA-LAPOWABOOOM!‘ “Yes!” he cheers as he defeats the giant ship and blows it to smithereens.

07-06-16_10-20-06 PM

“Impressive.” a feminine voice says.

“Huh?” Peter turns around to find he has an audience.

“Hi. I’m Amelia.” she says. “I’ve never been able to beat it before.” Amelia says gesturing to the game. “You’re good.”

07-06-16_10-22-20 PM

Peter stands looking at the girl blankly. “Do you have a name?” she giggles.

“Uh…oh yeah. I’m Peter.”

“It’s nice to meet you Peter. I haven’t see you around here before.” Amelia says.

“I’m not from Newcrest.” Peter replies. “Well I used to live here when I was a little kid but we moved to Windenburg. My grandmother passed, so we came for her funeral.”

“Aww, I’m sorry to hear that.” Amelia says sympathetically.

Peter gestures to the arcade game. “Wanna play?”

Amelia pulls the pockets from her gray capris inside out. “I’m fresh outta coins.” she says shrugging. “But it’s okay, I don’t mind watching. I watch a lot of the time.”

Peter reaches into his pocket and pulls out two coins. “Here.” he says placing one of the coins into the palm of Amelia’s hand. “I want you to play.”

“Thanks!” Amelia smiles. They each slide their coin into the game.

“Ready?” Peter asks, pressing the start button. Working together as a team, Peter and Amelia begin firing away. They make it past the first, second and third levels. “We’re unstoppable!” Peter gloats.

07-06-16_10-23-18 PM

The teens continue to play, round after round. “Get em’ Peter! Get em’!” Amelia giggles excitedly. Finally the game comes to an end.

“Dude, we made it to level seven!” Peter beams.

“I’ve never seen anyone get that high!” Amelia says as she and Peter high five one another.

07-06-16_10-24-04 PM

“We rock Amelia!” Peter says. “Look, we get to put our names in because we got a high score!” Peter enters their names. ‘PETER & AMELIA  214500’ “Look at that score! Two hundred fourteen thousand.”

“And five hundred.” Amelia adds.

“C’mon, let’s celebrate with a coupla root-beer floats.” Peter says heading to the restaurant side of the arcade.

“I’m fresh outta money, remember?” Amelia replies.

“Don’t worry. It’s on me.” Peter tells her.

07-06-16_10-25-35 PM

“We’ll have two root-beer floats please.” Peter tells the waitress.

07-06-16_10-29-08 PM

“So, tell me about yourself.” Peter says while they wait for their floats to come.

“There’s not much to tell. I’m pretty boring actually.” Amelia tells Peter.

“Boring? From what I’ve seen, you’re anything but. Most girls I know hate the arcade. What else do you like to do for fun?” he asks.

“I go swimming a lot.” Amelia says.

“You’re lucky, I wish I had a pool.”

“Oh, we don’t have a pool. I live next to one though. It’s not the greatest thing, but it gets me out of the house.”

Amelia becomes quiet as the waitress approaches. “Two root-beer floats.” the waitress says as she sets the glass mugs on the table.

“Thank you. These look great.” Amelia says with a smile.

07-06-16_10-30-11 PM

“Mmmmmm. Tastes good too.” Peter says taking a sip. Amelia giggles when she notices Peter has a root-beer mustache. He licks it off laughing. “Do you have siblings? Is that why you like to get out of the house?” Peter asks.

07-06-16_10-34-14 PM

“No. I’m an only child actually.” Amelia pauses. “It’s my mom, and my house.” she swallows hard. “I live in the slum section of town over in Willow Creek. My mom is clinically insane. She’s known around town as ‘insane Jane’. We live off her monthly check that she gets so we really can’t afford a nicer house.”

07-06-16_10-37-19 PM

“Oh wow, that’s gotta be tough.” Peter replies feeling bad for Amelia.

“You’re the first person that has been nice to me in a long long time. Most people call me the ‘crazy woman’s daughter’, they don’t even acknowledge me by name. That’s why I like to come here to Newcrest. It’s a bit of a walk but it gives me time to clear my head. Besides, not many people know me here. Sometimes I find simoleonsin the sewer drains on my way and I grab a slice of pizza or a soda for a treat. Anyway, what about you?”

“I am not an only child. I come from a large family actually. I have five siblings. One brother and four sisters, one of which is my twin.”

“You have a twin? That’s so awesome!” Amelia replies seeming to forget about her own circumstances. “What about a girlfriend? A cute guy like you can’t be single.”

Peter blushes. “Yeah…I’ve been seeing someone. But she’s mad at me right now.” he shrugs. “She likes when things go her way and her way only. Kinda bossy if you ask me.”

“Then why are you dating her?” Amelia questions.

Peter shrugs. I dunno, I mean I like her and all.”

Realizing she brought up a sore subject, Amelia excuses herself from the table. “I better get going. It was nice meeting you Peter. Thanks for the float. I haven’t had something that tasty in a long time.”

“Hey Amelia.” Peter says catching the girl before she goes. “I’m in town for another week. You maybe wanna hang out again before I go back to Windenburg?”

07-06-16_10-40-33 PM

Amelia can’t help hide her smile. “Sure.” she replies. “As long as your girlfriend won’t get mad.”

“Ah, she’ll be fine. Here, give me your number.” Peter says pulling out his phone.

“It’s 555-0024” Amelia says as Peter adds her contact info to his phone.

07-06-16_11-01-05 PM

“Gimme yours too.” Amelia says pulling out her phone.

“Mine is 212-4031.” Peter says watching Amelia type the number in. “You can call or text me anytime ya know.”

07-06-16_10-59-29 PM

Amelia smiles. “Okay.” she says feeling all giddy inside.

“Well, I guess I’ll see ya soon then.” Peter waves. “Bye Amelia.”

07-06-16_11-01-54 PM

 

 

2 thoughts on “~ Volume II ~ Chapter 14 ~ Episode 12 ~

Leave a comment